The Good Byline

The Good Byline

A Riley Ellison Mystery

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
Meet Riley Ellison, a smart, quirky, young library assistant who's become known in her hometown of Tuttle Corner, Virginia, as Riley Bless-Her-Heart. Ever since her beloved granddaddy died and her longtime boyfriend broke up with her, Riley has been withdrawing from life. In an effort to rejoin the living, she signs up for an online dating service and tries to reconnect with her childhood best friend, Jordan James, a reporter at the Tuttle Times. But when she learns that Jordan committedsuicide, Riley is shaken to the core.

Riley agrees to write Jordan's obituary as a way to learn more about why a young woman with so much to live for would suddenly opt out. Jordan's co-worker, a paranoid reporter with a penchant for conspiracy theories, convinces Riley that Jordan's death was no suicide. He leads her down a dangerous path toward organized crime, secret lovers, and suspicious taco trucks.

Riley's serpentine hunt for the truth eventually intersects with her emerging love life, and she makes a discovery that puts everything Riley holds dear--her job, the people she loves, and even her life--in danger. Will writing this obituary be the death of her?
Publisher: Altadena, California :, Prospect Park Books,, [2017]
Copyright Date: ♭2017
ISBN: 9781938849916
1938849914
Characteristics: 288 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
DBRL_ANNEG Feb 13, 2018

I normally don't read "mystery-lite"-type books, but after hearing the author speak I decided to give this one a try. I'm glad I did. It was a great weekend read--would be perfect on a beach or a plane (well assuming your seat mates didn't mind hearing the occasional burst of laughter). I laughed a lot. And I enjoyed the mystery, which reminded me a bit of something out of "Murder She Wrote: in terms of the amount of actual danger our heroine is in.This read will appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum novels and Elaine Viets' dead-end-job series.

DBRL_IdaF May 05, 2017

Take Lucy Ricardo, change her name to Riley Ellison, make her a millennial library assistant in Tuttle Corner, Virginia, recently dumped by her boyfriend, looking for love online and inadvertently involved in a murder investigation and you'll end up with this book. This might possibly be the funniest murder mystery I've ever read. I mean hearty guffaw funny, not slight chuckle funny.

Favorite elements: Eccentric but believable characters, including a dating concierge who is a real hoot; taco trucks!; threats involving a bookmobile racket; a hot explosives expert; entertaining dialogue.

One weakness: Characters sometimes seem a little slow to catch on to certain details that are waving and shouting their arms at the reader.

Highly recommend. Eagerly looking forward to the next book in the series.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NPPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top