Canadian Writers Since 1960

Canadian Writers Since 1960

First Series

Book - 1986
Rate this:
In 1958 the Massey Commission on Canadian Cultural Policy established the Canada Council, an organization devoted to active encouragement and financial support of artistic endeavors. Canadian writers were published in larger numbers, Canadian theaters opened for Canadian plays and courses in Canadian literature became standard features in universities and high schools. These developments had a direct impact both on the character of Canadian writing and on how it reached readers. The decades following 1959 saw a new generation of writers contending with the particular manifestations of their cultures. The decade of the 1960s was one of militant cultural nationalism; the 1970s saw the fruition of those national commitments; while the 1980s were marked by a wave of economic recession which affected daily life as well as political policy. This first volume in a six volume series on Canadian literary achievement profiles 67 notable writers from this prolific period. 67 entries include: Milton Acorn, Hubert Aquin, Margaret Atwood, Leonard Cohen, Marcel Dube, Marian Engel, Diane Giguere, Jacques Hebert, D. G. Jones, Robert Kroetsch, Suzanne Paradis, Scott Symons and Richard B. Wright.
Publisher: Detroit, Michigan : Gale Research Co., c1986
ISBN: 9780810317314
Branch Call Number: REF 809 Can 05
Characteristics: xiii, 445 p. :,ill. ;,29 cm
Additional Contributors: New, William H. 1938-


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at NPPL

To Top